Knowing my Place

November is National Novel Writing Month.  NaNoWriMo.  In 30 days, each participant attempts to write 50,000 words of a novel, with no prior work being brought in on November 1.  Amazing endeavor.  I’m not much for writing novels, but I thought I might try writing 50,000 words of blog posts, creative non-fiction, and/or more Gertie type stories.  There is even a forum for Rebels who aren’t so much following the rules as the spirit.

 

But by day three, I realized I just do not have even an hour a day (which wouldn’t be enough to hit 50,000 words in a month, but would at least give me a respectable total) with both my hands free to type and a quiet enough space to do so.  It’s just not my reality right now.

 

You know I do have?  I have a 26 month old daughter who potty trained completely on her own more than a month ago.  She has a few words that she knows by sight which I find almost unbelievable.  She asks to help when she sees me starting dinner.  She checks to see if I want help when I start to wash dishes or sweep the floor.  I have a 7 month old who *overflows* with joy every single time either I or my husband walks in to the room.  She laughs easily, she’s full of joy, and she is a clear window into the love of God.  I have a husband who is working, going to graduate school, preparing for the GRE exam, preparing his PhD application materials, finishing this thesis, and being a spectacular husband and father.  He loves me, he loves his daughters, and he loves to help others whenever he can.  I have a chance to enjoy a breastfeeding relationship knowing it will likely be my last.  I have a chance to see and experience one of the most breathtaking places on Earth.

 

This is an amazing time in my life.  So I may not hit 50,000 words this month.  I may not blog every day.  I may not remember to post something I’m thankful for.  But I’m ok with that.  Because I am living the life God has set out for me.  

Leave a comment

Filed under mama life, Notes to Self

Leave a Reply

