Anger

Matthew 5:21-22

“You have heard that it was said to the people long ago, ‘Do not murder, and anyone who murders will be subject to judgement.’ But I tell you that anyone who is angry with his brother will be subject to judgment.”

I couldn’t stop thinking about this verse last night.  Is there any way this doesn’t apply to my role as a mother?  Aren’t we supposed to be the adults in the relationship?  Our children have to learn how to accept the actions of other people without taking it personally.  At least, that’s what I think I’m supposed to be doing after reading this verse.  Accepting that 2 year olds don’t always obey instantly.  Accepting that 2 year olds don’t always obey at all.  Accepting those things and moving forward with what needs to get done.  I won’t ignore her feelings, I won’t disrespect her, but neither will I respond to her immaturity with my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christian Parenting

Leave a Reply

