Matthew 25:35-40 & Proverbs 31:15

(Matthew 25:35-40)

I’ve been trying to keep this verse in the back of my head lately.  When my kids are hungry or thirsty or tired or cold, I am serving Christ by meeting those needs.  Even when the toddler would stop being cold if she’d just wear her jacket or would stop feeling hungry if she ate the food rather than throw it on the floor, I am still serving Christ by dealing with her unreasonable little self.  And finding a solution to the problem with her, as opposed to leaving her to let her figure it out herself, seems a bit more consistent with the Christ in my bible.

 

Also, Proverbs 31:15 which says “She gets up while it is still night to provide food for her family” has really turned around my attitude at bedtime and for night time nursings.  Pearl In Oyster pointed this out on Tuesday and it’s really struck home for me.  This is a season in my life, and a short one, and simply a part of my service to Christ.  Even if the baby should really be full by now, or the toddler wouldn’t be hungry if she had just eaten her dinner.  The fact of the matter is that no matter what has happened before, they are hungry now, and not able to sleep until they have full bellies.

2 Comments

Filed under Christian Parenting

2 responses to “Matthew 25:35-40 & Proverbs 31:15

  1. ““She gets up while it is still night to provide food for her family” has really turned around my attitude at bedtime and for night time nursings. Pearl In Oyster pointed this out on Tuesday and it’s really struck home for me. This is a season in my life, and a short one, and simply a part of my service to Christ. Even if the baby should really be full by now, or the toddler wouldn’t be hungry if she had just eaten her dinner. The fact of the matter is that no matter what has happened before, they are hungry now, and not able to sleep until they have full bellies.”

    That’s really beautiful!

    One thing that I’ve been struggling with lately (expecting #5… my other four are older now…) is that I feel *more* selfish now than I was when I was younger and my older kids were infants/toddlers/preschoolers. I want to nurture and serve my children (big and small) and have some fear that my selfishness will rear its ugly head more with this new little one coming. . .

  2. I have always believed that nurturing your family was a part of ministry that God has called mothers to. This was an interested application of those bible verses – I had never thought about them that way before. I shall ponder these thoughts some more 🙂

Leave a Reply

